Women of Achievement Awards

The YWCA Lower Cape Fear Women of Achievement Awards, presented by James E. Moore Insurance Agency, recognizes outstanding contributions and achievements of women and young leaders. Since 1985, we have honored more than 400 Women of Achievement. The event raises key support for the YWCA’s programs and services that promote racial justice and gender equality for thousands of women and their families in southeastern North Carolina. The YWCA Women of Achievement Awards recognizes women and young leaders active in Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover and Pender counties. Nomination categories include Arts, Business, Education, Environmental, Health and Wellness, Lifetime Achievement, Public Service, Rachel Freeman Unsung Hero, Social Justice & Community Empowerment, Trailblazer, Volunteer, and Young Leader. 

The YWCA Lower Cape Fear is pleased to announce the recipients of the 33rd annual Women of Achievement Awards held on Thursday, March 8, 2018. Residing in Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover and Pender counties, thirty-nine nominees were recognized for their demonstrated excellence and commitment in their careers, schools and communities.

Adult nominees include Gabrielle Allen-Destroismaisons, Kimberly Bankston, Sonali Batish, Rhonda Bullard-Dutton, Marian Careatti, Rebecca Clark, Pat Dagnon, Samantha Daniel, Heather Davis, Emily Donovan, Michelle Fogle, Griselda Garcia, Ashanti Gibbs, Lauren Henderson, Olivia Herndon, Mary Konicki, Jennifer Kraner, Kelly Marquis Merritt, Shirley Mikulas, Bonnie Monteleone, Jennifer Robbins, Dana Sargent, Megan Schlude, Julie-Ann Scott-Pollock, Aneita Sinclair, Becca Tagg, Laurie Taylor, Jennifer Turnage, Robin Wicks Robinson, and Lydia Wood.

Young Leader nominees include Allison Cummings, Brianna Cunliffe, McKayla Howell, Mary Grayson Koonce, Angel Malott, Trinity Murray, Julia Nasco, Kiara Robinson, and Wallace Robinson.

Adult recipients and their respective categories are: Jennifer Kraner, Arts Award; Kimberly Bankston, Business Award; Dr. Julie-Ann Scott-Pollock, Education Award; Bonnie Monteleone, Environmental Award; Dr. Heather Davis, Health and Wellness Award; Sonali Batish, Public Service Award; Ashanti Gibbs, Rachel Freeman Unsung Hero Award; Rhonda Bullard-Dutton, Social Justice & Community Empowerment Award; Lauren Henderson, Trailblazer Award and Rebecca Clark, Volunteer Award. A Lifetime Achievement Award was presented for the first time since 2012 to The Honorable Robin Wicks Robinson.

High school seniors were recognized in the Young Leader Category. Young Leader recipients and their respective schools are: Brianna Cunliffe, Laney High School; Mary Grayson Koonce, South Columbus High School; and Wallace Robinson, New Hanover High School. Each Young Leader recipient will receive a $1,000 scholarship for their outstanding efforts in academics and volunteerism.




The support of the following generous sponsors made this event possible: Presenting Sponsor: James E Moore Insurance Agency, Inc.; Young Leader Scholarship Sponsors: Coastal Women Attorneys, Katie and Bruce Hovermale, and Women of Achievement Alumnae; Award Sponsors: Cape Fear Community College, CastleBranch, Coca-Cola Bottling Co. Consolidated, the Friends and Family of Rachel Freeman, International Paper - Riegelwood Mill, New Hanover Regional Medical Center, UNCW (CHHS-SHAHS), Wells Fargo, and Wendy McElhinney and Michelle Clark of Intracoastal Realty; Table Sponsors: Alpha Psi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, GE Hitachi, New Hanover Regional Medical Center Auxiliary, North State Bank, Proficient Learning, LLC, Wilmington NC Chapter of The LINKS, Incorporated, Wilmington Surgical Associates, UNCW Chancellor’s Office, and UNCW Office of Community Engagement; Media Sponsors: Encore, Sunrise Broadcasting, WECT, and WHQR 91.3 and 96.7 Public Radio; Friends: Bearman CPA, The Carousel Center, Eva Battle and Acquinetta Beatty, First Citizens Bank, Ken and Antionette Radcliffe, Law Office of LeeAnne Quattrucci, PA, and Viamark Carolinas ; In-Kind Sponsors: Cape Fear Community College, Coca-Cola Bottling Co. Consolidated, GenX Photos, John. W Davis Photography, and Scott Frazetta of Wilmington Convention Center.


For more information, contact:
Lauren McConville
YWCA Communications Manager
p: 910.799.6820