A- A A+

Women of Achievement Awards

YWCA Cancels 35th Annual Women of Achievement Awards

Due to the current climate, impact on our economy, and potential for continued impact moving forward, we have made the difficult but necessary decision to cancel YWCA’s Women of Achievement Awards, originally scheduled for Thursday, June 4, 2020. Given the recommendation of public health officials to avoid large gatherings for the foreseeable future, YWCA Lower Cape Fear’s Board of Directors decided it was prudent to suspend the event. The risk of holding the event would have needlessly compromised the safety and well-being of our guests, volunteers, and staff.

This is an important decision. YWCA appreciates its Board of Director’s leadership and decisiveness during this challenging time. The Women of Achievement Awards will happen at the right time, and we will celebrate strong, amazing, and impactful women when we are past this crisis.

Questions may be addressed to Grace D’Angelis (communications@ywca-lowercapefear.org), Marketing and Community Engagement Manager, at 910-799-6820.

Congratulations to the 2019 Women of Achievement Recipients!

2019 Women of Achievement Awards
Advocacy & Social Justice Award: Katrina Knight
Arts & Culture Award: Jacqueline Olive
Business Award: Christi Ferretti
Education Award: Sheri Shaw
Health & Wellness Award: Christy Spivey
Lifetime Achievement Award: Louise Coggins
Public Service Award: Cori Dixon
Rachel Freeman Unsung Hero Award: Sabra Wright
Student Impact Grant Recipient: Jessica Aguilar
Trailblazer Award: Marissa Bryant
Young Leader Scholarship Recipient: Sophie Farriss
Young Leader Scholarship Recipient: Janae Young

Congratulations to the 2019 Women of Achievement Nominees!

These 71 women were nominated by their mentors, peers, and colleagues for demonstrated excellence and commitment to their careers, schools, and communities. The YWCA Lower Cape Fear is proud to recognize the following women and young leaders for their remarkable achievements:

Jessica Aguilar
Maggi Apel & Vicky Janowski
Karen Barefoot
Amelia Batts
Jocelyn Beam
Anna Bradshaw
Bridget Brewster
Marissa Bryant
Rep. Deb Butler
Jenny Callison
Jessica Cannon
Lindsey Childs
Lydia Clopton
Louise Coggins
Alyssa Creech
Cori Dixon
Emily Dixon
Reilly Dumproff
Veronica Edge
Maggie Evans
Sophie Farriss
Elizabeth Felts
Christi Ferretti
Gina Fimbel
Samantha Fisher
Amy Gilman
Lauryn Gori
Cordelia Green
Claudia Gregory
Lara Hamlet
Alisa Harris
Adrienne Hayes-Singleton
Kathleen Holland
Krista Holland
Melodie Homer

Michaela Howells
Kristy Hubard
Ellison Hunter
Nancy King
Katrina Knight
Elizabeth Koonce
Stephanie Lanier
Summer McPherson
Lynn O’Connell
Jacqueline Olive
Mikala Parnell
Lori Poole
Tammy Proctor
Tammy Pruden
Audra Rackley
Jordyn Rascoe
Kathleen Rich
Dr. Donyell Roseboro
Sheri Shaw
Susan Sinclair
Kathryn Soderman
Eve Sparks
Christy Spivey
Andrea Stough
Summer Tanbouz
Lela Thompson
Yvetta Thompson
Amy Thornton & Pepper Capps Hill
Dr. Khadijia Tribie
Dr. Betsy Weinberg
Julie Wilsey
Veda Wilson
Sabra Wright
Janae Young

See the Full List of Past Winners!

Thank you to our 2019 Women of Achievement Sponsors!

Presenting Sponsor:

Katie & Bruce Hovermale

Wendy McElhinney & Michelle Clark

Chancellor's Office & Office of Community Engagement

Hempleton Investment Group / The Hemp Farmacy

Carol Kennedy

Wilmington Latin Dance

Gen X Photography

John W. Davis Photography